# **General Elections 2024: Key Information**

In India, the 18th Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be conducted between **19 April 2024** and **1 June 2024**. The 17th Lok Sabha is due to expire on 16 June 2024.

General elections are held to elect representatives to the Lok Sabha—that is, the lower house of Parliament.

### **Election Phases and Dates**

The polling will take place in **seven phases** across 28 states and 8 union territories. Approximately 97 crore eligible voters spread across **543 Parliamentary constituencies** are to participate in the polls.

Phase	Number of Parliamentary Constituencies	Number of States and UTs	Poll Date
Phase 1	102	21	19 April 2024
Phase 2	89	13	26 April 2024
Phase 3	94	12	7 May 2024
Phase 4	96	10	13 May 2024
Phase 5	49	8	20 May 2024
Phase 6	57	7	25 May 2024
Phase 7	57	8	1 June 2024

The counting of votes will be concluded by 4 June 2024.

Assembly elections in **four states**—Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, and Odisha—and by-elections on **26 assembly constituencies across 13 states** will also be held along with the Lok Sabha elections.

## **Eligible Voters**

Over **97 crore voters** are eligible to cast their votes. Out of these—

- o approximately 49.7 crore are male, and 47.1 crore are female voters.
- o over 48,000 transgenders are eligible voters.
- o around 1.8 crore are going to be first-time voters.

## **Key Players**

The ruling **NDA alliance**, led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is all set to contest the elections. In the 17th Lok Sabha elections held in 2019, the NDA secured a landslide victory,

winning **353 out of 543 seats**. The BJP alone won **303 seats**, comfortably crossing the majority mark of 272.

**Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance or I.N.D.I.A.**, a coalition led by the Indian National Congress, is also set to contest the elections.

Various other political parties have also initiated their election campaigns.

#### **About the Election Commission of India**

**Rajiv Kumar** is the current Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC). The President has recently appointed two new Election Commissioners (EC)—**Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu**. They are the first to be appointed under the Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners (Appointment, Conditions of Service and Term of Office) Act, 2023.

According to the act, the CEC and EC are appointed by the President of India on the recommendation of a Selection Committee that consists of—

- o Prime Minister of India
- o A union minister nominated by the Prime Minister of India
- o Opposition's Leader in the Lok Sabha

The CEC is subject to removal from office under the same procedure and justifications as judges of the Supreme Court. Election Commissioners are removed from office on the recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.

Article 324 of the Constitution of India deals with the provisions related to the Election Commission of India.